Breaking Away from the Big Box Store

A new independent RIA (Registered Investment Advisor) sat down for an interview recently about the reasons he left one of the major investment firms. We found most of his reasons familiar because they are the same reasons we set up our own independent firm five years ago.

Here are some of the things he said.

The financial world has changed ….

Besides working at [three different firms I have] more than 30 years in the business. Post–financial crisis, the world around us has dramatically changed. Over the past several years, I’ve seen former colleagues leave to start their own practices. They were doing so well that about two years ago I started seriously exploring my own options.

He likes the freedom of independence …

At [his last firm] I found their support a little cookie-cutter in nature. As part of an organization serving about 7,000 other advisors, I felt like my practice was being forced to manage our clients in a way that appealed to the lowest common denominator. … I still felt limited in what type of services I could offer my clients.

Simply helping business clients connect with bankers, lawyers and other professionals can prove very beneficial. At [Big Box Store], I had to make sure to refer outside businesses only if they met with the wirehouse’s approval. I found that somewhat limiting. … So being able to control my own referral network should create more opportunities to provide a broader network of value-added contacts to clients.

What else can you do that you have not been able to do before?

A big advantage of being independent is being able to advise clients with assets held at other institutions. But we’re also finding more freedom in other areas. For example, one of our clients owns a business that lends to farmers. He has asked me to help open a new line of credit worth about $30 million and shop for the best deal. With another client, we’re helping him interview investment bankers and begin a formal process to sell his software business, which we think is worth between $40 and $50 million.

At Korving & Company, a lot of what we do for our clients has nothing to do with investment management. Right now we are helping a recent widow gain control of her financial affairs. She asked us what we owe her for our services. As a client, there is no extra fee; it’s part of our holistic service model when we act in our fiduciary capacity.

If your financial advisor works for a major firm he is constrained – in many ways – by the limitations placed on him by his employer. Give us a call and see what independence can do for you.

Tagged , , , , ,
