Viewing “Generation Now”

Chapter 12

Schwab funded a research study to find out what the next generation – “Generation Now” – believes and how it views the world. They wanted to understand how they view their future, determine their fears, attitudes and behaviors.

“Generation Now” is 30 – 45 years old. They have graduated from college, have a career and are making good money. But as they reached adulthood, the events they grew up with shaped them and their attitudes.

Difficult Navigation

Despite some negative in – going perceptions and attitudes towards financial advisors (at large), most “Generation Now” Investors know that great, unique advisors exist. But it’s just not that easy to find them.

Most rely on word of mouth networks and referrals, and are reluctant to cold call a new advisor based simply on a website, listing or ad.

If I could find one that really was just there to inform me and be a partner in the process rather than trying to steer me into one thing or another that they believe is good for me. I’d rather be educated and allow to make my own decision. I don’t care if they make money off the decisions. But I want to be the one who makes the decision and understands why I’m making it. So if I could find a financial advisor like that who could assist but not to pressure or guide too strongly, then it would be an ideal situation.

This is the twelfth of 12 posts examining Generation Now.

Contact us for a complete copy of the report.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,
